Hi all! - Reisverslag uit Cambridge, Verenigd Koninkrijk van Nanda Peters - WaarBenJij.nu Hi all! - Reisverslag uit Cambridge, Verenigd Koninkrijk van Nanda Peters - WaarBenJij.nu

Hi all!

Door: Nanda

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Nanda

28 Juli 2007 | Verenigd Koninkrijk, Cambridge

Here I am, back again in the UK, in Cambridge, to be precisely. I'm sorry for the Dutchies, but my head is filled with the English language, that's why this edition will be only in English. Maybe I'll translate later in Dutch. Luckily for me, the keyboard is similar to the ones we use in NL.

So... it didn't took me long to get used to the atmosphere around here. I kind of know my way around town now. But the team's new, so I had to remember lots of new names and faces. There are people from all over the world: UK (ofcourse), NL, US, Germany, Spain, Greece, Egypt (Dubai), Nigeria (Dubai), India (Dubai), Poland (Dubai), Argentina (Dubai), Ghana, Vietnam, Malaysia, Japan and one guy from Scotland (cause he says that a seperate nation...). You can see there are students from Dubai, 13 this year!

During the day we spent time learning more about the Bible, about reaching out to different religions and cultural backgrounds. We play volleyball and football in the afternoons and invite international students to our coffeebars (NOT coffeeshops). The coffeebars are run betweeen 8 and 11 pm, specially for international teenagers who come to learn English during the summer. They can practise their English (me as well!), play table tennis, fussball (which is table football) and so on. We also perform a short drama, after we invite the teenagers to join us for a short Bible discussion. This is mainly our day routine.

Today we had the day off, but I organized the team BBQ, which always is on the between-Sat. It was great fun, we had lovely weather. The BBQ was between 1 and 3.30 pm (crazy UK-people), so after that we went punting (check google: punting cambridge, to get an idea). We had dinner (again) and then they wanted so see a movie. I didn't wanted to go, cause they went to see the Simpsons (aargh). So... here I am, home alone in my host family's house. They're on holiday to Sardinia for a week and I don't know the whereabouts of my Dutch housemate Hannah. Just checking my email then, writing this stuff on my website and check nu.nl for any interesting news. After that I will zap the UK television and have an early night for one. Usily I don't get to bed before half past midnight... but we don't have to get up for 9.30 am.

So, that's it for now. You're more than welcome to leave a message!!! Or send me an email if you're bored where-ever you are: ferdinanda(at)live.nl. Bye, that's all folks!

  • 29 Juli 2007 - 08:15

    Laura:

    Ik ga maar in het Nederlands. Leuk om te lezen hoe het met je gaat. Klinkt leuk zeg en gezellig.
    Mijn onderzoek was onvoldoende, ben nu bezig met aanpassen, arghhh. Gaan nu een week later op vakantie. Terwijl ik al zo aan vakantie toeben.
    Veel plezier nog daarzo. Hoop dat jullie wat tieners kunnen bereiken.
    Groetjs Lau

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Verslag uit: Verenigd Koninkrijk, Cambridge

Nanda

Actief sinds 30 Nov. -0001
Verslag gelezen: 201
Totaal aantal bezoekers 59597

Voorgaande reizen:

29 Mei 2023 - 30 Juni 2023

USA 2023 - The Roadtrip Northwest

28 Februari 2022 - 19 Mei 2022

USA 2022 - The Roadtrip Southwest

04 Mei 2019 - 30 Mei 2019

USA 2019 - Roadtrip #5

10 Mei 2018 - 25 Mei 2018

Ierland 2018

13 September 2017 - 13 Oktober 2017

USA 2017 - Autumn Trip

11 November 2016 - 28 November 2016

USA 2016 - The Thanksgiving Trip

21 April 2016 - 12 Mei 2016

España 2016 - La vida en Andalucía

17 April 2015 - 23 Mei 2015

USA 2015 - The South

30 Mei 2014 - 20 Juni 2014

USA 2014 - The Carolina's & Georgia

29 Januari 2010 - 16 Februari 2010

USA 2010 - Chicago, NIU & New York

16 Maart 2006 - 17 Augustus 2008

Cambridge-gerelateerde avonturen

Landen bezocht: